Listen to the First Song Off the 'Stranger Things' Season 2 Soundtrack

© Netflix
© Netflix
Photo of Ryan Kristobak
Music Editor12 October 2017

On Friday, Oct. 27, we finally return to Hawkins, Indiana—and most likely the Upside Down, too—when Stranger Things returns to Netflix for its second season. While waiting two more weeks feels like a punishment which no crime warrants, soundtrack breakouts Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein of the band S U R V I V E have delivered their first taste of the new soundtrack to ready our approaching journey.

When we, the audience, weren’t holding out hope that Barb’s death was just a cruel ruse, shaking in fear at the sight of the Demogorgon, or practicing a strictly Eggo diet thanks to Eleven’s snacking habits, we were eagerly scouting Google to find out who was behind the show’s incredible music. Now, just over a year and a pair of Grammy nods later, the Austin synth quartet S U R V I V E are household names, and Dixon and Stein’s contributions to the second season of Stranger Things is almost hotly anticipated as the show itself.

Today, we finally get to hear the first of the soundtrack’s 34 parts. Titled “Walkin’ In Hawkins,” the song steadily builds a series of synth loops that visualize a crisp, autumn hike, yet still maintaining that ominous prickling within all of its pleasantness. Give the track a listen below.

“In Season 2, we’re introducing new styles of composition, while still revisiting old themes when appropriate,” the composers explained in a statement. “We’ve created new elements that are necessary to support the story, but still want to remain true to the sound of Season 1.”

Previously, in an interview with The Vinyl Factory, the duo stated that the sophomore score would be “a bit darker and weirder.”

The Season 2 soundtrack arrives on digital platforms on Oct. 20. You can check out the tracklist below, along with a Friday the 13th-themed teaser for the season’s final trailer which arrives on—you guessed it—Friday, Oct. 13.

Stranger Things Season 2 Tracklist:
1. Walkin’ in Hawkins
2. Home
3. Eulogy
4. On the Bus
5. Presumptuous
6. Eight Fifteen
7. The First Lie
8. Scars
9. I Can Save Them
10. Descent Into the Rift
11. Chicago
12. Looking for a Way Out
13. Birth / Rescue
14. In the Woods
15. Digging
16. Symptoms
17. Eggo in the Snow
18. Soldiers
19. Choices
20. Never Tell
21. She Wants Me to Find Her
22. Shouldn’t Have Lied
23. It’s a Trap
24. Crib
25. The Return
26. Escape
27. We Go Out Tonight
28. Connect the Dots
29. The Hub
30. On Edge
31. What Else Did You See?
32. Run
33. Levitation
34. To Be Continued

Cookies Policy

We and our partners use cookies to better understand your needs, improve performance and provide you with personalised content and advertisements. To allow us to provide a better and more tailored experience please click "OK"