airport_transferbarbathtubbusiness_facilitieschild_activitieschildcareconnecting_roomcribsfree_wifigymhot_tubinternetkitchennon_smokingpetpoolresturantski_in_outski_shuttleski_storagesmoking_areaspastar
Sign In
Sections
Follow Us
Sam Deitch/BFA/REX/ Shutterstock
Sam Deitch/BFA/REX/ Shutterstock
Unsaved itemCreated with Sketch.

25 Celebrity Instagrams That Prove Coachella Style Has Evolved Past Flower Crowns

Picture of Jill Di Donato
Fashion Editor
Updated: 19 April 2017
The first weekend of Coachella, which marked the beginning of the festival season, made a major statement about the future of festival dressing. Gone are the boho days of flower crowns and fringe, as stars set a new bar that includes haute couture, glam rock, lots of skin, sequins, and ’90s nostalgia.

Metallic hot pants, logo laden accessories, designer sunnies, and stiletto sandals (best advised for the afterparties, not the actual festival) were some of the festival’s most pervasive trends. And who better to model the new wave of festival dressing than celebrities, on their Instagram feeds, of course.

No doubt, Rihanna, fresh off the success of her latest Fenty collection, and decked out in all Gucci everything proved that all that glitters is platinum, taking home the trophy for most show-stopping look. But supermodel Coco Rocha, DJ Mia Moretti, Katy Perry, and Rita Ora helped bring Jeremy Scott’s Moschino Candy Crush collaboration to the fore of the festival. After all, Los Angeles-based Scott tells The Hollywood Reporter he is a “Coachella pioneer,” so the festival felt right to celebrate the collection with a party sponsored by Moschino, Candy Crush and Tidal.

L to R MARQUES'ALMEIDA, SAINT LAURENT, SELF-PORTRAIT, Available on Matches Fashion

L to R MARQUES’ALMEIDA, SAINT LAURENT, SELF-PORTRAIT, Available on Matches Fashion

Black at Coachella? You bet. And although most festival goers can’t afford a Saint Laurent blazer (to be worn with hot pants, ’80s style) you can definitely cop the look for less. The trend takeaway is that festival dressing has been elevated to posh, with a side of rocker chic. So, let the following looks inspire you as you embark on your summer of festival fun.

Rihanna

A post shared by badgalriri (@badgalriri) on

Katy Perry

 

A post shared by KATY PERRY (@katyperry) on

Alessandra Ambrosio

Kylie Jenner

 

A post shared by Kylie (@kyliejenner) on

Vanessa Hudgens

Kendall Jenner

 

A post shared by Kendall (@kendalljenner) on

Emma Roberts

A post shared by Emma Roberts (@emmaroberts) on

Nick Jonas

 

A post shared by Nick Jonas (@nickjonas) on

Selena Gomez

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

The Weeknd

 

A post shared by The Weeknd (@theweeknd) on

Hailey Baldwin

A post shared by Hailey Baldwin (@haileybaldwin) on

Hailee Steinfeld

 

Freida Pinto

A post shared by Freida Pinto (@freidapinto) on

Jeremy Scott and Rita Ora

 

A post shared by Jeremy Scott (@itsjeremyscott) on

Ashley Tisdale

A post shared by Ashley Tisdale (@ashleytisdale) on

Emily Ratajkowski

 

A post shared by Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata) on

Lady Gaga

A post shared by xoxo, Gaga (@ladygaga) on

Joe Jonas and Cole Whittle

 

A post shared by J O E J O N A S (@joejonas) on

Dove Cameron

A post shared by ♡DOVE♡ (@dovecameron) on

Tove Lo

 

A post shared by Tove Lo (@tovelo) on

Coco Rocha

A post shared by Coco Rocha (@cocorocha) on

Mia Moretti with Katy Perry

 

A post shared by miamoretti (@miamoretti) on

Amber Rose

Ania Boniecka

 

A post shared by ania boniecka (@aniab) on

Ashley Graham and Jasmine Tookes