25 Celebrity Instagrams That Prove Coachella Style Has Evolved Past Flower Crowns

Sam Deitch/BFA/REX/ Shutterstock
Sam Deitch/BFA/REX/ Shutterstock

The first weekend of Coachella, which marked the beginning of the festival season, made a major statement about the future of festival dressing. Gone are the boho days of flower crowns and fringe, as stars set a new bar that includes haute couture, glam rock, lots of skin, sequins, and ’90s nostalgia.
Metallic hot pants, logo laden accessories, designer sunnies, and stiletto sandals (best advised for the afterparties, not the actual festival) were some of the festival’s most pervasive trends. And who better to model the new wave of festival dressing than celebrities, on their Instagram feeds, of course.

No doubt, Rihanna, fresh off the success of her latest Fenty collection, and decked out in all Gucci everything proved that all that glitters is platinum, taking home the trophy for most show-stopping look. But supermodel Coco Rocha, DJ Mia Moretti, Katy Perry, and Rita Ora helped bring Jeremy Scott’s Moschino Candy Crush collaboration to the fore of the festival. After all, Los Angeles-based Scott tells The Hollywood Reporter he is a “Coachella pioneer,” so the festival felt right to celebrate the collection with a party sponsored by Moschino, Candy Crush and Tidal.

Black at Coachella? You bet. And although most festival goers can’t afford a Saint Laurent blazer (to be worn with hot pants, ’80s style) you can definitely cop the look for less. The trend takeaway is that festival dressing has been elevated to posh, with a side of rocker chic. So, let the following looks inspire you as you embark on your summer of festival fun.

Rihanna

A post shared by badgalriri (@badgalriri) on Apr 16, 2017 at 11:48am PDT

Katy Perry

A post shared by KATY PERRY (@katyperry) on Apr 14, 2017 at 7:05pm PDT

Alessandra Ambrosio

A post shared by Alessandra Ambrosio (@alessandraambrosio) on Apr 14, 2017 at 10:18am PDT

Kylie Jenner

A post shared by Kylie (@kyliejenner) on Apr 14, 2017 at 4:01pm PDT

Vanessa Hudgens

A post shared by Vanessa Hudgens (@vanessahudgens) on Apr 17, 2017 at 9:20am PDT

Kendall Jenner

A post shared by Kendall (@kendalljenner) on Apr 15, 2017 at 3:37pm PDT

Emma Roberts

A post shared by Emma Roberts (@emmaroberts) on Apr 14, 2017 at 6:45pm PDT

Nick Jonas

A post shared by Nick Jonas (@nickjonas) on Apr 15, 2017 at 1:59pm PDT

Selena Gomez

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on Apr 15, 2017 at 6:04pm PDT

The Weeknd

A post shared by The Weeknd (@theweeknd) on Apr 16, 2017 at 7:39pm PDT

Hailey Baldwin

A post shared by Hailey Baldwin (@haileybaldwin) on Apr 15, 2017 at 2:38pm PDT

Hailee Steinfeld

A post shared by hailee steinfeld (@haileesteinfeld) on Apr 14, 2017 at 9:49pm PDT

Freida Pinto

A post shared by Freida Pinto (@freidapinto) on Apr 14, 2017 at 7:34am PDT

Jeremy Scott and Rita Ora

A post shared by Jeremy Scott (@itsjeremyscott) on Apr 16, 2017 at 10:17pm PDT

Ashley Tisdale

A post shared by Ashley Tisdale (@ashleytisdale) on Apr 16, 2017 at 4:24pm PDT

Emily Ratajkowski

A post shared by Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata) on Apr 16, 2017 at 9:29am PDT

Lady Gaga

A post shared by xoxo, Gaga (@ladygaga) on Apr 15, 2017 at 11:08pm PDT

Joe Jonas and Cole Whittle

A post shared by J O E J O N A S (@joejonas) on Apr 15, 2017 at 10:26am PDT

Dove Cameron

A post shared by ♡DOVE♡ (@dovecameron) on Apr 17, 2017 at 1:01pm PDT

Tove Lo

A post shared by Tove Lo (@tovelo) on Apr 16, 2017 at 7:56pm PDT

Coco Rocha

A post shared by Coco Rocha (@cocorocha) on Apr 15, 2017 at 5:58pm PDT

Mia Moretti with Katy Perry

A post shared by miamoretti (@miamoretti) on Apr 17, 2017 at 9:05am PDT

Amber Rose

A post shared by Amber Rose| Fashion| Comedy (@teamamberrose) on Apr 15, 2017 at 10:50am PDT

Ania Boniecka

A post shared by ania boniecka (@aniab) on Apr 14, 2017 at 5:50pm PDT

Ashley Graham and Jasmine Tookes

A post shared by A S H L E Y G R A H A M (@theashleygraham) on Apr 16, 2017 at 6:41pm PDT

Culture Trip Summer Sale

Save up to $1,395 on our unique small-group trips! Limited spots.

toast-message-image
close-ad
Edit article