These 8 Stages of Arabic Romance Will Make You Fall in Love With the Language

Alex Mellon /
Alex Mellon / | © Culture Trip
Jessica Harn

This article is part of our Explore Your World Through Language campaign.

The Arabic language ascribes specific stages to the process of falling in love. From ancient Sufi poetry and the adored story of Layla and Majnum (a Romeo and Juliet of sorts), or, in modern times, the sensual poetry of Nizar Qabbani and the soulful singing of Fayrouz, these stages have inspired countless writers and artists. Here we explore all eight in turn.

Al-Hawa – Interest

This stage is when love is still only a fleeting notion, perhaps felt during the early days of a crush. The root of the word means ‘to blow’, suggesting that feelings are still likely to change quickly with the wind. The love may grow or quickly die.

Alex Mellon /

Al-Sabwah – Desire

The second stage is when there’s a mutual and friendly enjoyment of each other’s company. This word has the connotation of wanting someone, though still with the restraint of playful flirtation. It’s more about physical attraction and doesn’t imply a relationship.

Alex Mellon /

Al-‘Alaqah– Attachment

This is when there is an attachment to the other from deep in the heart; what exists between the two parties can now be considered an actual relationship. The root verb of this word means ‘to become attached to’ or ‘to cling to’, implying that the connection between the pair has reached dependency.

Alex Mellon /

Al-Kalaf – Deep fondness

The fourth stage is when the love begins to hurt or cause certain levels of distress. This amount of love now causes physical reactions, and is similar to the English saying ‘I love you so much it hurts’. Many associate this word with feelings of infatuation.

Alex Mellon /

Al-‘Ishq– Adoration

This describes the feeling when infatuation properly takes hold, spreading thoroughly throughout the heart. The roots of this word hold connotations such as ‘to become nested in’, ‘to be covered in’ and even ‘to become blind to’. This is the highest stage of pleasurable passion before love becomes darker, more meaningful. The love is now all-consuming.

Alex Mellon /

Al-Najwa– Heartache

This stage brings a certain amount of sadness from being too in love. This word originally comes from the Arabic for ‘salvation’, meaning that the feelings are so hopeless and painful that lovers need saving. Reaching this stage, however, can allow both sides to completely open up and engage in deep conversations about their vulnerability.

Alex Mellon /

Al-Wodd– Friendliness

The seventh stage is when, after exposing their grief and vulnerability, both sides are able to express the purest form of love and show genuine companionship for each other after all the suffering and heartache they have been through. The lovers are now also the best of friends. This stage also has connotations of delicacy and gentleness, as each side has learned to protect and love each other’s vulnerable flaws.

Alex Mellon /

Al-Huyum– Insanity

The final and fullest stage of love is when there is a complete freedom in the madness and crazy feelings after going through the long journey of love together. This stage indicates that the lovers have lost all reason and will now let their passions and emotions run wild. The verb from the root letters of this word can also mean ‘to perish’, meaning that the lovers will eventually perish in happiness and bliss after finally finding someone worth going through all these stages for.

Alex Mellon /

For many Arabs, the word al-huyum is a favorite because it embodies what many believe to be the best part or the true meaning of love: a complete and joyous freedom in loving the other. In Arab culture, death or the idea of perishing isn’t a negative thing, and to die in the arms of your love or to perish with the full feelings of being in love is one of the best ways to leave this earth. While this doesn’t always have to mean physical death, it can also symbolize a ‘mental death’ in which the person needn’t have a care in the world anymore, now that they’ve found the love of their life.
This article is part of our Explore Your World Through Language campaign. If you enjoyed this exploration of the wonders of words, why not sink your teeth into these great pieces:
You’re Guaranteed to Win Every Argument With These 11 Multilingual Insults

These Silent Signals Don’t Always Mean What You Think

The 10 Most Beautiful Languages In the World

Culture Trips launched in 2011 with a simple yet passionate mission: to inspire people to go beyond their boundaries and experience what makes a place, its people and its culture special and meaningful. We are proud that, for more than a decade, millions like you have trusted our award-winning recommendations by people who deeply understand what makes places and communities so special.

Our immersive trips, led by Local Insiders, are once-in-a-lifetime experiences and an invitation to travel the world with like-minded explorers. Our Travel Experts are on hand to help you make perfect memories. All our Trips are suitable for both solo travelers, couples and friends who want to explore the world together.

All our travel guides are curated by the Culture Trip team working in tandem with local experts. From unique experiences to essential tips on how to make the most of your future travels, we’ve got you covered.

Edit article