airport_transferbarbathtubbusiness_facilitieschild_activitieschildcareconnecting_roomcribsfree_wifigymhot_tubinternetkitchennon_smokingpetpoolresturantski_in_outski_shuttleski_storagesmoking_areaspastar

The 11 Most Famous Hotels in London

The Goring Hotel
The Goring Hotel | © Matthew Chattle / Alamy Stock Photo
London’s hotels have become famous around the world thanks to their intriguing designs, movie cameos and even the odd royal guest. Whether you’re looking for the ultimate in luxury hospitality or a cool new hangout, these famous London hotels will guarantee a memorable stay in the capital.

The Savoy

Hotel
Add to Trip
Savoy London
The Savoy | Courtesy of The Savoy / Hotels.com
Book with our partner Hotels.com
The cream of the crop, the Savoy is as much a part of London now as Big Ben and Buckingham Palace. First opened in 1889, the institution was impressive from the offset thanks to the installation of electric lights and lifts. Now Grade-II listed, it had a huge refurbishment and reopened in 2010. Thankfully, the designers stuck to the hotel’s traditional roots – with some added comforts.
Hotel Amenities
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Bar
Swimming pool
Spa
Gym
Bathtub in
Pet Friendly
Business facilities
More Info

About this place:

Fine Dining, Romantic, Traditional, Stylish, Traditional

The Ritz London

Hotel
Add to Trip
The Ritz London
The Ritz London. | Courtesy of The Ritz London / Hotels.com
Book with our partner Hotels.com
Sister of the Paris hotel, The Ritz is probably best known in London for its famous afternoon teas, served from 11.30am to 7.30pm each day, featuring a selection of mouthwatering dainty sandwiches, cakes and pastries. It featured heavily in the 1999 film Notting Hill, when Hugh Grant’s character pretended to be a writer for Horse & Hound to interview Julia Roberts. Stay on a Friday night for dinner and dancing, and you’ll feel as though you’ve travelled back in time.
Hotel Amenities
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Bar
Gym
Business facilities
Childcare
Connecting rooms available
More Info

Chiltern Firehouse

Boutique Hotel
Add to Trip
Chiltern Firehouse
Chiltern Firehouse | Courtesy of Chiltern Firehouse / Expedia
Okay, so Chiltern Firehouse is most famous for its restaurant – a favourite of London’s celebrities and cool kids – but the hotel is equally impressive. A former fire station in Marylebone, the classic exterior hints at things to come inside. Expect top quality service, charming retro decor and a surprisingly relaxed vibe. It goes without saying that you should pay a visit to the Nuno Mendes restaurant.
More Info

The Dorchester Hotel

Hotel
Add to Trip
The Dorchester Hotel
The Dorchester Hotel | Courtesy of The Dorchester Hotel / Hotels.com
Book with our partner Hotels.com
A truly legendary hotel, The Dorchester has played host to a string of well-known faces, including Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor, who often holed up in the Penthouse. Prince Philip also had his stag do at the hotel before marrying Queen Elizabeth, In terms of interiors, things are as you’d expect; traditional, luxurious and vast. Interesting fact – the hotel claims to have the deepest baths in London.
Hotel Amenities
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Bar
Spa
Gym
Bathtub in
Business facilities
Child activities
Crib
More Info

Great Northern Hotel

Hotel
Add to Trip
Great Northern Hotel, King's Cross, London
Great Northern Hotel, King's Cross, London | Courtesy of Great Northern Hotel / Hotels.com
Book with our partner Hotels.com
Perched right next to King’s Cross station, the Great Northern Hotel first opened in 1854, but lay derelict for 12 years in the early noughties. After a much-needed revamp it reopened in 2013, and business has been booming since. The iconic curved building looks the same as ever, but the interior features stylish, modern furnishings and artwork that pays homage to the nearby British Library.
Hotel Amenities
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Bar
Gym
Business facilities
Connecting rooms available
Non smoking
More Info

The Portobello Hotel

Boutique Hotel
Add to Trip
3484c199_z
The Portobello Hotel | Courtesy of The Portobello / Hotels.com
Book with our partner Hotels.com
The Portobello became infamous in the nineties when Johnny Depp and Kate Moss allegedly filled a bathtub with champagne. But honestly, one look at those gorgeous Victorian tubs and you’ll probably understand why they were tempted. Featuring plenty of original features and actual round beds, this is exactly the kind of hotel you imagine when you think ‘luxury’.
Hotel Amenities
Free Wifi
Non smoking
More Info

The Goring Hotel

Independent Hotel
Add to Trip
The Goring Hotel London
The Goring Hotel | Courtesy of The Goring Hotel / Hotels.com
Book with our partner Hotels.com
If it’s good enough for royalty… The Goring is famously where Kate Middleton stayed the night before her wedding to Prince William. It’s not hard to see why she chose this hotel. The Westminster location is handy, but it’s the traditionally English interior that has a real charm. Opened by Otto Richard Goring in 1910, The Goring remains in the family to this day.
Hotel Amenities
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Bar
Gym
Airport transfers
Business facilities
Childcare
Connecting rooms available
Non smoking
More Info

Hazlitt's

Boutique Hotel
Add to Trip
Hazlitt's Hotel
Hazlitt's Hotel | Courtesy of Hazlitt's Hotel / Hotels.com
Book with our partner Hotels.com
The former home of essayist William Hazlitt, who died in poverty in 1830, this period building in Soho feels incredibly authentic even to this day. The floorboards still slope, the door frames can be wonky and the rooms are decorated with traditional paintings. Of course, it comes a whole heap of charm, and you’re guaranteed to feel utterly at home.
Hotel Amenities
Free Wifi
Childcare
Non smoking
More Info

St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London

Boutique Hotel, Suite Hotel, Business Hotel
Add to Trip
St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London | Courtesy of St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London/Hotels.com
Book with our partner Hotels.com
Opened in 1865, this hotel next to St Pancras used to be known as the Midland Grand. By 1930 it was used as offices after becoming too expensive to heat, before being redeveloped and reopened in 2011. Fans of Bridget Jones’ Diary or Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets will probably recognise it from the movies, but tourists are bound to have noticed the impressive building during their trips. The interior is almost as showstopping as the facade; lots of gold leaf and marble, with an impressive Grand Staircase.
Hotel Amenities
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Bar
Swimming pool
Spa
Gym
Pet Friendly
Business facilities
Crib
More Info

The Langham

Hotel
Add to Trip
The Langham
The Langham | Courtesy of The Langham/Hotels.com
Book with our partner Hotels.com
The Langham was considered London’s first grand hotel. Built between 1863 and 1865, at a whopping (at the time) £300,000, the stunning building is London through and through. Today it focuses on experience, and bar Artesian was voted World’s Best Bar four years in a row from 2011-2015. Head for a cocktail here and watch the world go by.
Hotel Amenities
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Bar
Swimming pool
Spa
Gym
Pet Friendly
Business facilities
Childcare
More Info

Royal Lancaster London

Hotel
Add to Trip
Royal Lancaster London
Royal Lancaster London | Courtesy of Royal Lancaster London/Hotels.com
Book with our partner Hotels.com
The close proximity of Hyde Park is a selling point, but the Lancaster is best known for its cameo in the Michael Caine film The Italian Job. The decor is a throwback to its heyday, with plenty of 1960s touches and retro furniture. The breakfast here is one of the best in London.
Hotel Amenities
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Bar
Gym
Airport transfers
Connecting rooms available
Non smoking
More Info