Château de Caen
In the centre of the city, surrounded by modern post-war architecture, is the Chateau de Caen (Caen Castle), built by William the Conqueror in 1060. It served as a place of assembly for the Dukes of Normandy and Kings of England, and was a major stronghold for the English during the Hundred Years’ War. During the Second World War, the castle was used as barracks and as a result was heavily damaged. In 1946, a Caennais archaeologist named Michel de Boüard decided to rebuild the castle and restore it back to its medieval roots, using it as a grounds to showcase Caen’s heritage and history.