Le Suquet is one of the oldest neighbourhoods in Cannes. Start on the Croisette, walk past the old port on your left and head up the windy, cobbled street of restaurants to an old beautiful church and castle. Here’s a brief history of the area – a must-see for any visitor.
Le Suquet sits at the top of the hill overlooking what is now Cannes. The original site of the town, it started out as a Roman camp and several buildings were added over the centuries. The area overlooks one of the most famous walkways in the world (La Croisette, where the movie stars run the gauntlet every year at the Cannes Film Festival) as well as the old port.
In the 12th century, monks built a castle on top of the hill, now known as Musée de la Castre. Today the medieval fortress houses an art collection donated by Baron Lycklama in 1877. The chapel of Saint Anne has a stunning view of the city and across the Bay of Cannes.
In the 14th and 15th centuries, a church was built just under the old fortress – the Eglise Notre Dame d’Esperance – it offers great views over the harbour and city and is now home to some wonderful sculptures and stained glass windows.
Over 400 years ago, the roads were laid out and with such close proximity to the harbour, the fishermen began to make their homes here, fishing overnight to bring in the fresh catch for the town in the morning. It is at the foot of the hill leading up to Le Suquet, that the wonderful Marché Forville (the market) can be found, along with the many restaurants in the rue Saint-Antoine. It’s a wonderful walk and offers a historic breather from the hustle and bustle in the centre of Cannes.