Nossa Senhora de Assunção Fort
The history of Fortaleza, which means “fort” or “bastion,” begins at this spot. In 1649 a Dutchman, Matias Beck, built a large fort here called Schoonenborch. In 1654 the Portuguese took it and renamed it Fortaleza da Nossa Senhora de Assunção. It is now used by the military, but it’s possible to be given a guided tour. Inside there is small museum to a hero of the 19th-century war with Paraguay called General Antonio de Sampaio, and outside there are some impressive cannons.
Centro, Fortaleza, +55 84 987262614