airport_transferbarbathtubbusiness_facilitieschild_activitieschildcareconnecting_roomcribsfree_wifigymhot_tubinternetkitchennon_smokingpetpoolresturantski_in_outski_shuttleski_storagesmoking_areaspastar
Sign In
Sections
Follow Us
View from the Majestic Centre, Wellington, New Zealand | © Juan Alberto Garcia Rivera/Flickr
View from the Majestic Centre, Wellington, New Zealand | © Juan Alberto Garcia Rivera/Flickr
add to wishlistsCreated with Sketch.

A Walk Around Wellington, New Zealand in 17 Perfect Instagrams

Picture of Thalita Alves
Updated: 19 July 2017
Wellington: New Zealand’s culture hub and capital city. A place where you can easily walk to every must-visit attraction. A photogenic destination in every way, always ready for a close up. Let’s head on an Instagram-worthy journey around its streets to see this in action.

Many will tell you that Wellington is a city with plentiful panoramic vistas.

Views for days 👀

A post shared by Jenna Udy (@jenna_udy) on

A city where artistic treasures can be found right in the midst of all the action.

Wellington waterfront #wellingtonwaterfront #wellington #solaceofthewind

A post shared by Terry Wilkins Photography NZ (@terrywilkins161) on

And culture is always well within reach.

But man is not made for defeat. A man can be destroyed but not defeated.

A post shared by Fran (@francolmenar) on

Wellington is a city that’s not afraid to embrace its quirkiest features.

Aptly contrasting its modern, aesthetically-pleasing fixtures…

Color+Geometry=City

A post shared by Sukey (@sukey2517) on

…with a trove of heritage sites to create a well-rounded image.

A post shared by Kerrin Stubbs (@kerrinstubbs) on

A ride on New Zealand’s only fully-functioning funicular railway system (try saying that fast!) is a definite must.

And the tranquil Botanic Garden is practically a rite of passage.

🌺 #jardinesbotanicos #wellington #naturaleza

A post shared by Katy Campos (@katymoon11) on

Of course, no visit to Wellington would ever be complete without paying attention to its political happenings.

Wellington in Winter. Best case scenario.

A post shared by Micah Cinco (@micahcinco) on

The Beehive’s tiered structure is sure to marvel all those who see it.

🐝hive

A post shared by Ruby Anne (@bbyanne) on

Architecture aficionados will also fall in love with the Edwardian, neo-classical Parliament House.

I hope it is a good choice 🤞 . . #wellington #travel #selfie

A post shared by Jane_Lee🌹 (@_j_a_n_e_____) on

And history buffs will absolutely adore the diligently preserved Parliamentary Library.

The local saying is true: nothing beats Wellington on a good day.

Wellington, you are a bit of alright 👌🏼

A post shared by @jessicastraveldiary on

Even its gloomiest days are handled in good Kiwi jest.

Made it to the Wellywood sign!

A post shared by Pippa Lynott (@pippalynott) on

In the end, it doesn’t matter whether you choose to stay in town…

Wellington you beauty 😍 #nofilter #courtenayplace #winterevenings #wellingtonoffice #lovethisoutlook #pinksky

A post shared by Samantha Gadd (@samanthagadd) on

Or opt to venture slightly further afield

Wellington is bound to deliver a memorable experience.