Explore your world
The Guggenheim Interior | © ricoeurian/Flickr
The Guggenheim Interior | © ricoeurian/Flickr

32 New York Museums to Partner Up for a City-Wide Instagram Swap

Picture of Rachel Gould
Art & Design Editor
Updated: 18 April 2017

On Wednesday, April 26, 32 museums across New York City will pair up and swap Instagram accounts for the day. 

Kickstarted in London last year, #MuseumInstaSwap invites the public to digitally explore and engage with each collection from a new perspective. Designed to “[showcase] the breadth and depth of art institutions across the city,” this year’s #MuseumInstaSwap is organized by Neta Rigatos, Digital Marketing Manager at the Guggenheim Museum.

A post shared by Guggenheim Museum (@guggenheim) on

Some partnerships are comparable—the Guggenheim and the Museum of Modern Art both house world renowned collections of modern and contemporary art—while other partnerships are contrasting, such as the Public Art Fund (a public art organization exclusively dedicated to the presentation of contemporary art around New York City) and The Frick Collection, one of New York’s most traditional Upper East Side institutions.

According to the Guggenheim’s press release, the initiative “encourages participating institutions to draw parallels between each other’s themes and exhibitions.”

See the full list of participating duos below, and don’t forget to follow the 2017 edition of #MuseumInstaSwap on April 26.

American Folk Art Museum @afamuseum
Japan Society @japansociety_nyc

Brooklyn Historical Society @brooklynhistory
New York Transit Museum @nytransitmuseum

Brooklyn Museum @brooklynmuseum
Whitney Museum of American Art @whitneymuseum

Bronx Museum of the Arts @bronxmuseum
Rubin Museum of Art @rubinmuseum

Children’s Museum of the Arts @cmainnyc
Sugar Hill Children’s Museum of Art & Storytelling @sugarhillmuseum

Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum @cooperhewitt
The Jewish Museum @thejewishmuseum

The Drawing Center @drawingcenter
New Museum @newmuseum

The Frick Collection @frickcollection
Public Art Fund @publicartfund

International Center of Photography @icp
MoMA PS1 @momaps1

Intrepid Museum @intrepidmuseum
New-York Historical Society @nyhistory

Museum of the City of New York @MuseumofCityNY
Queens Museum @queensmuseum

Museum of Modern Art @themuseumofmodernart
Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum @guggenheim

El Museo del Barrio @elmuseo
The Studio Museum in Harlem @studiomuseum

Museum of Arts and Design @madmuseum
The Noguchi Museum @noguchimuseum

The Met Breuer @metbreuer
The New York Botanical Garden @nybg

Neue Galerie New York @neuegalerieny
The Morgan Library & Museum @themorganlibrary