The LaLaurie Mansion
The LaLaurie Mansion, built in 1832 on Royal Street by Madame Delphine LaLaurie to live in with her third husband, two daughters and household slaves, is perhaps one of the most terrifying locations in New Orleans. The native socialite, born during the Spanish colonial period into a white Creole family, became infamous in April 1834 when, after responding to a fire, rescuers found seven bound slaves in the attic showing signs of severe malnourishment and mistreatment. Following her torture chamber discovery, LaLaurie escaped to France with her family and left behind a French Quarter landmark that has been kept alive for more than 150 years through the hair-raising stories of those who died inside the Royal Street home. Today, ghost tales and haunting accounts surround the renovated and restored mansion, now a private residence that can be visited by booking a haunted tour with one of the following companies: Bloody Mary’s Tours, French Quarter Phantoms, Ghost City Tours in New Orleans or Haunted History Tours.