Explore your world
© NVitkus/Flickr
© NVitkus/Flickr

Your Summer Bucket List For Chicago

Picture of Katie Mastropieri
Updated: 9 February 2017
Summers in Chicago are euphoric. It’s a time to flee from your hibernation bunker (also known as your apartment) and roam the city. Simply stated: summer is for exploring. Most people know Chicago summers for their rooftop opportunities or running along Lake Shore Drive, but we’ve curated an entire slew of other events you should be sure to check out from May through August. Take a look at our visual variety of suggestions through the eyes of local Instagrammers.

Ravinia Festival

You can't beat movie nights on the lawn! 🎶📽🎞Get your tickets now: link to purchase in bio.

A photo posted by Ravinia Festival (@raviniafestival) on


Green Music Festival

Green Music Festival: all the energy for the stage is generated by guys on bicycles 🍃

A photo posted by Tania Mann (@tania_mann) on


Cricket Hill

#chicago kite festival! too bad my photos don't do it any justice.

A photo posted by Amy Kenat (@chicagogirl27) on


River Walk

Have a good Sunday! #RiverWalk #93milionidimiglia

A photo posted by Luca Lattari 🇮🇹 (@lucalattari) on


Chicago Air & Water Show


Water Taxi


Tour of Wrigley Field / Cubs Game

Until next time, Chi-town. ✌🏻️🐻⚾️ #wrigleyfield #cubs #chicago #cubbies #latergram #chitown #baseball

A photo posted by Chelsea Gunter (@chelsea_gunter) on


Garfield Park

May 17, 2016 Nature x fashion 🌿👗

A photo posted by Justin Tyler Yee (@mrtwigie) on



All 1-Day GA #Lolla Tickets are officially SOLD OUT. VIP, Platinum & Hotel Packages are still available.

A photo posted by lollapalooza (@lollapalooza) on


Tour de Fat – Palmer Square


Millennium Park – Summer Film Series

#MovieAtThePark #Chicago #MillenniumPark #MillenniumParkSummerFilmSeries #CityLife

A photo posted by Alejandra Gallardo (@alegallardo) on



Look down part 2🚢 hopefully new location tonight 🎮🚁

A photo posted by Razvan Sera (@razdood) on


Maggie Daley Park


Oak Street Beach

Summer nights ⭐️ #throwbacktofriday #chicago #chitecture #oakstreetbeach #summernights

A photo posted by Makenzey Wilson (@makenzeymae) on


Tall Ship Windy


Navy Pier


Race to Mackinac – Chicago Yacht Club

#CYCRTM #sailChi #mackinacisland #acwschicago #navypier

A photo posted by Chicago Yacht Club (@racetomackinac) on


Chicago Architectural Tour

Best thing we've done so far. #chicago #architectureboattour

A photo posted by Kim Olsen (@thevintagemodern) on


Lincoln Park Nature Boardwalk

Lincoln park before dark🌞

A photo posted by Meg Lamothe (@meglamothe) on


Kayaking the River

Gorgeous shot by @lisab244

A photo posted by Urban Kayaks Chicago (@urbankayaks) on