Serving as a naval base in the late 1960s for many sailors, Cosson Hall on Treasure Island is just one of many abandoned establishments visitors frequent. Now it is home to adventurers snapping pictures of the graffiti covered building.
Built in 1910, the Bayshore Roundhouse was a place of residency for freight engines. As business grew, the roundhouse turned into quite the complex, housing upwards of 60 inbound and outbound tracks, store buildings, a freight yard shop and a hospital to service the thousands of employees working there. The roundhouse was abandoned in 1982 ruined by a fire in 2001, but that hasn’t stopped thrill-seekers from sneaking onto the premises to do some exploring.
Opened in 1912, 16th Street Station at the time was something Oakland was very proud to claim as its own. The station put Oakland on the map as being a major transportation hub.
In 1925, San Francisco opened one of the largest outdoor heated swimming pools just off of Sloat Boulevard. This pool served residents for more 40 years until it closed in 1971 due to underfunding and poor maintenance. The final straw came when the cost of repairs was more than the city could afford, and the city finally decided to shut it down completely and convert it into a parking lot, which now serves San Francisco Zoo visitors.
If creepy, abandoned hotels are your thing, take a drive to Byron, Calif., and visit the once vibrant Byron Hot Springs Hotel. The hotel served as an army interrogation center during WWII, a monastery in the mid to late 50s and a resort.