Sign In
Courtesy of the O. Henry Prize Foundation
Courtesy of the O. Henry Prize Foundation
Save to wishlist

The Winning Writers for the 2017 O. Henry Prize Stories Have Been Announced

Picture of Michael Barron
Books and Digest Editor
Updated: 26 May 2017
A printed anthology for the winners of the prestigious award will be published in September

Every year since 1918, the O. Henry Prize has highlighted American and Canadian short stories of exceptional merit published in the preceding year. Today, the 99th list was announced, and a group of twenty writers pulled from an array of literary publications.

Edited by writer Laura Furman, and judged by writers David Bradley, Elizabeth McCracken, and Brad Watson, the 2017 O. Henry Prize Stories anthology will be published by Anchor Books in September and will include, according to its website, “essays by the three eminent guest jurors on their favorite stories, observations from the winning writers on what inspired them, and a comprehensive resource list of the many magazines and journals, both large and small, that publish short fiction.”

The full list of writers is below. For those curious to read more, head over to Literary Hub, who first published the list, where three of the stories have been posted in full.

“Too Good To Be True” by Michelle Huneven, Harper’s

“Something for a Young Woman” by Genevieve Plunkett, New England Review

“The Buddhist” by Alan Rossi, Granta

“Garments” by Tahmima Anam, Freeman’s

“Protection” by Paola Peroni, The Common
(read “Protection”)

“Night Garden” by Shruti Swamy, Prairie Schooner
(read “Night Garden”)

“A Cruelty” by Kevin Barry, Five Points

“Floating Garden” by Mary La Chapelle, Salamander

“The Trusted Traveler” by Joseph O’Neill, Harper’s

“Blue Dot” by Keith Eisner, Salamander

“Lion” by Wil Weitzel, Prairie Schooner

“Paddle to Canada” by Heather Monley, Zyzzyva
(read “Paddle to Canada”)

“A Small Sacrifice for an Enormous Happiness” by Jai Chakrabarti, A Public Space

“The Bride and the Street Party” by Kate Cayley, Prism

“Secret Lives of the Detainees” by Amit Majmudar, Kenyon Review

“Glory” by Lesley Nneka Arimah, Harper’s

“Mercedes Benz” by Martha Cooley, A Public Space

“The Reason Is Because” by Manuel Muñoz, American Short Fiction

“The Family Whistle” by Gerard Woodward, Zoetrope

“Buttony” by Fiona McFarlane, The New Yorker