Sign In
| © akira kawamura/Flickr
| © akira kawamura/Flickr
Save to wishlist

So It Turns out Americans Don't Need a Visa to Travel to Europe After All

Picture of Luke Abrahams
Social Content Editor
Updated: 11 October 2017
Americans who booked their summer vacations to Europe ages ago have finally been told that they can still travel across the European Union, visa free.

The European Parliament announced last week that they would not restrict American citizens’ right to visa-free travel throughout the EU member states. The issue initially rose in response to Trump’s controversial American visa policies earlier this year.

After hours of deliberation, Europe decided that taking the high road would achieve better diplomatic results – especially for the citizens of the union who enjoy visa-free travel to the United States already. A statement released by the European Commission reads:

‘In view of the significant progress achieved during the last year and the positive momentum of ongoing work, the temporary suspension of visa waivers for nationals of Canada and the United States would be counterproductive at this moment and would not serve the objective of achieving visa-free travel for all EU citizens.’

Not all citizens of EU states can enter America so easily though. Nationals from the likes of Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Romania and Poland are excluded from the visa-waiver program for both the United States and Canada.

Overall, the news that Europe has chosen diplomacy over reciprocity will bring a sigh of relief to thousands of US-based travellers.

Want more travel news? This city is telling tourists not to visit it!