Sign In
James Beard Foundation Awards medals | ©Carly Erickson/BFA/REX/Shutterstock
James Beard Foundation Awards medals | ©Carly Erickson/BFA/REX/Shutterstock
Save to wishlist

Here Are the Winners of the 2017 James Beard Foundation Awards

Picture of Kathryn Maier
NYC Food & Drink Editor
Updated: 2 May 2017
The 2017 winners of the James Beard Foundation Awards were announced last night in a ceremony held at the Lyric Opera of Chicago.

There are a lot of awards in the restaurant world. There’s The World’s 50 Best Restaurants and its regional spin-offs. There are stars bestowed by the Michelin Guide. But the real Oscars of the food world—at least in the States—are the James Beard Foundation Awards. Named after one of America’s original foodies, a James Beard Award is one of the culinary community’s top honors.

This year’s big winners included Le Coucou (Best New Restaurant), Topolobambo (Outstanding Restaurant), Michael Solomonov of Zahav (Outstanding Chef), and Stephen Starr (Outstanding Restaurateur). The complete list of chef and restaurant winners follows below.

2017 James Beard Foundation Restaurant and Chef Awards

Best New Restaurant: Le Coucou, NYC

Outstanding Restaurant: Topolobampo, Chicago

Outstanding Chef: Michael Solomonov, Zahav, Philadelphia

Outstanding Pastry Chef: Ghaya Oliveira, Daniel, NYC

Outstanding Baker: Mark Furstenberg, Bread Furst, Washington, D.C.

Outstanding Bar Program: Arnaud’s French 75 Bar, New Orleans

Outstanding Restaurateur: Stephen Starr, Starr Restaurants (Le Coucou, Serpico, Upland, among others), Philadelphia

Outstanding Service: Blue Hill at Stone Barns, Pocantico Hills, NY

Outstanding Wine Program: Canlis, Seattle

Outstanding Wine, Beer, or Spirits Professional: Sam Calagione, Dogfish Head Craft Brewery, Milton, DE

Rising Star Chef of the Year: Zachary Engel, Shaya, New Orleans

Best Chef, Great Lakes: Sarah Grueneberg, Monteverde, Chicago

Best Chef, Mid-Atlantic: Greg Vernick, Vernick Food & Drink, Philadelphia

Best Chef, Midwest: Kevin Nashan, Sidney Street Cafe, St. Louis

Best Chef, New York City: Marco Canora, Hearth

Best Chef, Northeast: Andrew Taylor and Mike Wiley, Eventide Oyster Co., Portland, ME

Best Chef, Northwest: Gabrielle Quiñónez Denton and Greg Denton, Ox, Portland, OR

Best Chef, South: Rebecca Wilcomb, Herbsaint, New Orleans

Best Chef, Southeast: Steven Satterfield, Miller Union, Atlanta

Best Chef, Southwest: Hugo Ortega, Hugo’s, Houston

Best Chef, West: Corey Lee, Benu, San Francisco

2017 James Beard Foundation Humanitarian of the Year: Denise Cerreta, One World Everybody Eats, Salt Lake City

2017 James Beard Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award: Nora Pouillon, Restaurant Nora, Washington, D.C.

2017 James Beard Foundation Restaurant Design Awards

75 Seats and Under
Firm: AvroKO
Designers: Kristina O’Neal, William Harris, Adam Farmerie, and Greg Bradshaw
Project: SingleThread, Healdsburg, California

76 Seats and Over
Firm: Meyer Davis
Designers: Will Meyer, Gray Davis, and Katie McPherson
Project: St. Cecilia, Atlanta

Design Icon: Grand Central Oyster Bar and Restaurant, NYC

2017 James Beard Foundation America’s Classics

Bertha’s Kitchen, North Charleston, SC; owners: Julia Grant, Linda Pinckney and Sharon Coakley

Gioia’s Deli, St. Louis; owner: Alex Donley

La Taqueria, San Francisco; owner: Miguel Jara

Sahadi’s, Brooklyn, NY; owners: Christine Sahadi Whelan and Ron Sahadi

Schultz’s Crab House, Essex, MD; owners: Chrissy Burkman, Stephanie Kell, Jason McKinney, Michelle McKinney, Robert A. McKinney Jr., and Stephen McKinney