0airport_transferbarbathtubbusiness_facilitieschild_activitieschildcareconnecting_roomcribsfree_wifigymhot_tubinternetkitchennon_smokingpetpoolresturantski_in_outski_shuttleski_storagesmoking_areaspastar
The Stockyards, 1923 | Public Domain/Wikicommons
The Stockyards, 1923 | Public Domain/Wikicommons

29 Photos That Tell The History Of The Junction, Toronto

The Junction, named after its four intersecting railways in this west Toronto neighborhood, has a rich and fascinating history, encompassing a whole scope of interesting, trivia-worthy facets. From its old Native Canadian trading trails, to railway tracks that fostered the growth of industry, to Canada’s largest livestock market and center of Ontario’s meat-packing industry, the Junction is steeped in history.

The neighborhood was dubbed the “wild west” of the city thanks the behavior of some of the workers at the turn of the 20th century. The notorious behaviour led to an alcohol ban which lasted nearly a century. After the close of the stockyards in 1993 and repeal of the alcohol ban in 1998, the area began to transform and was redeveloped with housing, shops and restaurants. It has regenerated itself into a unique Toronto enclave between Runnymede Road and the Canadian National Railway corridor, nestled between Annette and St. Clair street. The “small town charm” of the area is still deeply felt. Despite its growth and revitalization, most of the original architecture and character remains intact. This vibrant neighborhood has plenty to see.

May 4, 1906: The Weston Streetcar

Weston Car Toronto Junction 1906 | Public Domain/Wikicommons

Weston Car Toronto Junction 1906 |© Tyrrell, Joseph Burr (1858-1957)/Wikicommons

 

September 17, 1912: Dundas Street West and the Peacock Hotel

Dundas Street West at Royce Avenue (Peacock Hotel) | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

Dundas Street West at Royce Avenue (Peacock Hotel) | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

 

October 15, 1913: Keele Street Park

Keele Street Park | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

Keele Street Park | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

 

C. 1915: Toronto Public Library

Toronto Public Library; Annette Branch, Annette St., s.w. cor. Medland St. | Public Domain/Toronto Reference Library

Toronto Public Library; Annette Branch, Annette St., s.w. cor. Medland St. | Public Domain/Toronto Reference Library

 

c. 1916: Maple Leaf Milling Co. and Campbell Flour Mills Co.

Maple Leaf Milling Co. and Campbell Flour Mills Co. Ltd. | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

Maple Leaf Milling Co. and Campbell Flour Mills Co. Ltd. | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

February 8, 1922: Dundas Street and Pacific Avenue

South-west corner of Dundas Street and Pacific Avenue | © Toronto History/Flickr

South-west corner of Dundas Street and Pacific Avenue | © Toronto History/Flickr

 

October 17, 1922: Dundas Street West

Dundas Street West, from Indian Grove | © Toronto History/Flickr

Dundas Street West, from Indian Grove | © Toronto History/Flickr

 

March 21, 1923: Dundas Street

Dundas Street bridge west to Sterling Road | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

Dundas Street bridge west to Sterling Road | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

1923: The Stockyards

The Stockyards, 1923 | Public Domain/Wikicommons

The Stockyards, 1923 | © Alfred Pearson/Wikicommons

 

November 28, 1923: Dundas Street, looking west

Dundas, looking west, from Pacific | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

Dundas, looking west, from Pacific | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

October 31, 1924: St. Clair Avenue and Hounslow Heath Road

St. Clair Avenue and Hounslow Heath Road, looking east | © Toronto History/Flickr

St. Clair Avenue and Hounslow Heath Road, looking east | © Toronto History/Flickr

 

March 16, 1927: Heydon House Hotel

Heydon House Hotel, northwest corner of Weston Road and St. Clair Avenue | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

Heydon House Hotel, northwest corner of Weston Road and St. Clair Avenue | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

 

August 2, 1929: Runnymede and Lambton bus stop signs

Runnymede and Lambton bus stop signs, on Keele Street, south of Dundas Street | © Toronto History/Flickr

Runnymede and Lambton bus stop signs, on Keele Street, south of Dundas Street | © Toronto History/Flickr

 

November 14, 1929: Lansdowne Avenue

Lansdowne Avenue - Royce Avenue crossing | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

Lansdowne Avenue – Royce Avenue crossing | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

July 9, 1931: Union Street and St. Clair Avenue

Union Street and St. Clair Avenue, looking south | © Toronto History/Flickr

Union Street and St. Clair Avenue, looking south | © Toronto History/Flickr

 

July 9, 1931: Mulock Avenue

Mulock Avenue looking south from St. Clair Avenue West | © Toronto History/Flickr

Mulock Avenue looking south from St. Clair Avenue West | © Toronto History/Flickr

 

April 23, 1932: Subway – Royce Ave

Subway - Royce Ave, east of Dundas | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

Subway – Royce Ave, east of Dundas | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

April 23, 1932: Canadian General Electric Co.

Subway - Lansdowne Ave, north of Royce Ave | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

Subway – Lansdowne Ave, north of Royce Ave | Public Domain/City of Toronto Archives

August 29, 1934: Symes Road incinerator

Symes Road incinerator | © Toronto History/Flickr

Symes Road incinerator | © Toronto History/Flickr

 

June 26, 1941: Dundas Street

Dundas Street, west from Indian Grove | © Toronto History/Flickr

Dundas Street, west from Indian Grove | © Toronto History/Flickr

1942: A fire hall on Jane Street

A fire hall on Jane Street, in the Junction, 1942 | Public Domain/Wikicommons

A fire hall on Jane Street, in the Junction, 1942 | © James Victor Salmon/Wikicommons

 

c. 1950: Canada Packers stock yards

Canada Packers stock yards, south-west corner of Keele Street and St. Clair Avenue West | © Toronto History/Flickr

Canada Packers stock yards, south-west corner of Keele Street and St. Clair Avenue West | © Toronto History/Flickr

 

February 19, 1952: Annette Street

119-121 Annette Street | © Toronto History/Flickr

119-121 Annette Street | © Toronto History/Flickr

 

1955: West Toronto Railway Station

West Toronto Railway Station (C.P.R.), Old Weston Road, e. side, n. of Dundas St. W. | Public Domain/Toronto Reference Library

West Toronto Railway Station (C.P.R.), Old Weston Road, e. side, n. of Dundas St. W. | Public Domain/Toronto Reference Library

 

1956: Interurban Electric Company

Interurban Electric Company Ltd., Mavety St., e. side, s. of Dundas St. W. | Public Domain/Toronto Reference Library

Interurban Electric Company Ltd., Mavety St., e. side, s. of Dundas St. W. | Public Domain/Toronto Reference Library

 

August 31, 1957: C. P. R., Runnymede Yards

C. P. R., Runnymede Yards, roundhouse, Runnymede Road, south-west corner St. Clair Avenue west, Toronto, Ont. | Public Domain/Toronto Public Library

C. P. R., Runnymede Yards, roundhouse, Runnymede Road, south-west corner St. Clair Avenue west, Toronto, Ont. | Public Domain/Toronto Public Library

 

December, 1958: Davenport Road and Osler Street

Pedestrian crossing sign at Davenport Road and Osler Street | © Toronto History/Flickr

Pedestrian crossing sign at Davenport Road and Osler Street | © Toronto History/Flickr

 

c. 1987: Dundas Street West

Dundas Street West in the Junction | © Toronto History/Flickr

Dundas Street West in the Junction | © Toronto History/Flickr

 

Now: Keele and Dundas Street

Keele Dundas Junction Toronto October 2011 | © Tyler. Chris Tyler/Wikicommons

Keele Dundas Junction Toronto October 2011 | © Tyler. Chris Tyler/Wikicommons