Sign In
© Debby Wong/REX/Shutterstock
© Debby Wong/REX/Shutterstock
Save to wishlist

U2 Invited London Firefighters to Their Twickenham Stadium Rehearsals

Picture of Ann Lee
Music Editor
Updated: 11 July 2017
U2 reportedly reached out to a group of London firefighters to invite them to watch them perform as they rehearsed for their Twickenham Stadium gigs.

The Irish band treated around 50 firefighters and their guests to a private gig while they carried out their soundcheck ahead of their concerts at the rugby stadium over the weekend, according to NME.

The performance featured eight song with highlights including ‘Where the Streets Have No Name’, ‘Beautiful Day’ and ‘I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For’.

Support act Noel Gallagher reportedly watched the mini-concert from a mixing desk while frontman Bono chatted to the guests afterwards.

Professional cameras were banned although some of the attendees captured footage of their phones.

The invite comes after the tragic fire at Grenfell Tower in Kensington, London, which killed at least 80 people.

The gigs were part of U2’s Joshua Tree World Tour, which celebrated the 30th anniversary of the band’s fifth studio album.

The setlist from the Twickenham rehearsals:

1. ‘The Little Things That Give You Away’

2. ‘Where The Streets Have No Name, California (There Is No End to Love)’ (snippet)

3. ‘I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For’

4. ‘Red Hill Mining Town’

5. ‘Miss Sarajevo’

6. ‘Beautiful Day, Starman’ (snippet)

7. ‘Mysterious Ways’

8. ‘Vertigo’