Sign In
Screenshot from 'Saturnz Barz' | © YouTube/Gorillaz
Screenshot from 'Saturnz Barz' | © YouTube/Gorillaz
Save to wishlist

Gorillaz Release Four New Songs, Detail New Album 'Humanz'

Picture of Ryan Kristobak
Music Editor
Updated: 23 March 2017
After six long years, the wait is finally over: Gorillaz is releasing their fourth album, Humanz, on April 28. While a delay of one more month still seems like an endless distance, Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett have given us plenty of treats in one day to keep us occupied.

Dropping four songs simultaneously across streaming platforms, Gorillaz has provided us with collaborations with Popcaan (“Saturnz Barz”), D.R.A.M. (“Andromeda”), Vince Staples (“Ascension”), and Jehnny Beth (“We Got The Power”). Each artist brings their own influence, and assures listeners that the newest edition to the Gorillaz discography will be equal parts impressive and eclectic.

We also got our first taste of the album’s accompanying visuals with a delightfully bizarre music video for “Saturnz Barz,” including a 360-degree version, that features a space-traveling, Scooby Doo-esque haunted house adventure.

The duo also dropped a new set of (too-real-it’s-creepy) portraits of the project’s longstanding four main characters — 2D, Murdoc Niccals, Noodle, and Russel Hobbs — on their Instagram.

Gorillaz characters 2D, Murdoc Niccals, Noodle, and Russel Hobbs│© Instagram
Gorillaz characters 2D, Murdoc Niccals, Noodle, and Russel Hobbs│ | © Instagram

Humanz will also include features from De La Soul, Danny Brown, Kelela, Grace Jones, Pusha T, and more, and includes the previously released song “Hallelujah Money,” which premiered the day before Donald Trump’s inauguration. Gorillaz also recently announced their own music festival, Demon Dayz.

Check out for the tracklist for Humanz below:

1. Ascension feat. Vince Staples
2. Strobelite feat. Peven Everett
3. Saturnz Barz feat. Popcaan
4. Momentz feat. De La Soul
5. Submission feat. Danny Brown and Kelela
6. Charger feat. Grace Jones
7. Andromeda feat. D.R.A.M.
8. Busted and Blue
9. Carnival feat. Anthony Hamilton
10. Let Me Out feat. Mavis Staples and Pusha T
11. Sex Murder Party feat. Jamie Principle and Zebra Katz
12. She’s My Collar feat. Kali Uchis
13. Hallelujah Money feat. Benjamin Clementine
14. We Got The Power feat. Jehnny Beth

Humanz deluxe edition bonus tracks:

15. The Apprentice feat. Rag’n’ Bone Man, Zebra Katz, and RAY BLK
16. Halfway To The Halfway House feat. Peven Everett
17. Out Of Body feat. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz, and Imani Vonshà
18. Ticker Tape feat. Carly Simon and Kali Uchis
19. Circle Of Friendz feat. Brandon Markell Holmes