Called Riddarhuset in Swedish (which literally translates to House of Knights), the House of Nobility was commissioned by Axel Oxentjierna, Lord High Chancellor of Sweden, and construction began in 1641 based on designs by Simon de la Vallée. The architect died soon after so his son, Jean, took over for a time; the red bricks and sandstone pediments are said to be the work of Dutch architect Justice Vingboons.
Largely built during the 18th century, Stockholm’s Royal Palace is an excellent example of the Italian Baroque style. Nicodemus Tessin was yet again charged with designing the palace, which was built on the spot where the earlier Tre Kronor castle stood before succumbing to fire in 1697. One of the largest palaces in Europe, there are more than 600 rooms spread across seven floors, it is His Majesty the King’s official residence, and where most of the monarchy’s official receptions are held. The daily work of the Royal Family and its staff also takes place here.
Tessin Palace (Tessinska palatset) was built by Nicodemus Tessin the Younger between 1694 and 1700. Tessin’s son, Carl Gustaf, inherited the Baroque townhouse (of sorts) but was forced to sell it in the mid-18th century due to financial failings. It eventually became the property of the Crown, who used it to house various dignitaries. The Baroque townhouse is found in Stockholm’s Old Town (Gamla Stan) just beside the Royal Palace, and it faces the main approach to the Royal Palace, Slottsbäcken, illustrating the exalted position held by the Tessin family at the time.
Also know as the Wicanderski Villa, Brinckska Villa, and Liljevalchska Villa, Lusthusporten is a 19th century merchant villa located on Djurgården in Stockholm. Djurgården—the Royal Hunting Grounds—has been in the possession of the Crown since the 15th century but in 1873, wholesaler Alfred Brinck was given permission to lease land and build a strict Italian-style home based on the drawings of architect Hjalmar Kumli. The home was eventually sold to Hjalmar Wicander, who had architect Carl Möller rebuild the house in a new Baroque style. An iron roof was later added.