airport_transferbarbathtubbusiness_facilitieschild_activitieschildcareconnecting_roomcribsfree_wifigymhot_tubinternetkitchennon_smokingpetpoolresturantski_in_outski_shuttleski_storagesmoking_areaspastar
Sign In
The History Of The Museo Lázaro Galdiano In 1 Minute
Save to wishlist

The History Of The Museo Lázaro Galdiano In 1 Minute

Picture of Culture Trip
Updated: 10 June 2016
Located inside the palatial former residence of Lázaro Galdiano and his wife, today this building is a public museum, home to what was at the time of Lázaro’s death, the largest and most significant private collection of artwork in Spain. With works of art by some of the Great Masters such as Goya, El Greco or Constable, the collection continues to be of great relevance and significance today.

José Lázaro Galdiano was a Spanish financier, journalist, publisher and art collector who shared his passion for art with his wife, the Argentine Paula Florido. Together they acquired over 12,000 pieces of art by some of the most famous classical artists of all times, such as Goya, Velazquéz, El Bosco, Constable or Reynolds. The palace in which the museum is located was commissioned by Lázaro himself and constructed in 1903, the year he married his wife. In 1947, upon his death, the great collector bequeathed his entire collection as well as the building in which they were gathered to the Spanish state. From then, the Lázaro Galdiano Foundation was created and in 1951 the museum opened its doors and these masterpieces finally became available for all to enjoy.

At the time, Lázaro’s collection was one of the largest and most unique in Spain. Something of a rarity at the time, he possessed masterpieces by some of the great British painters, rumoured to have been a particular fancy of his wife. In addition, for a long time he possessed what was believed to be one of the only painting by Leonardo Da Vinci in Spain (the painting has since been attributed to one of Da Vinci’s disciples or contemporaries). The paintings, as well as a smaller collection of sculptures, enamels and other decorative arts, are spread across four floors open to the public, which were completely refurbished in 2001-2004.

📅 Tue-Sat 10am – 4:30pm Sun 10am – 3pm