The old fort, at the entrance to the old port was built by Louis 14th in 1660. He is quoted as saying that “the inhabitants of Marseille are extremely fond of nice fortresses. We wanted to have our own at the entrance to this great port.” It was occupied by the Germans in World War II and then bombed during the liberation of Marseille. It remained in a shabby state until the government completely renovated it and it is now connected to the oldest district of Marseille, Le Panier and to the new MUCEM building by two bridges. The views are stunning and so are the overhead walkways.
Fort Saint-Jean, Prom. Louis Brauquier, Marseille, France